Lira Rossa Cheese Now Available!

image

We are excited to announce that Lira Rossa creamery is up and running! Smoked ricotta (ricotta affumcata) and handmade fresh mozzarella are available for purchase at our farm stand located next to the dairy. The mozzarella is $16/ lb (each ball is about 1/2 lb) and the smoked ricotta is $24/ lb (each piece is about 1/4 lb). In addition, Lira Rossa is currently delivering to Houston, Austin, and Victoria, and they will be selling cheese at the Bastrop farmers market starting in September. There are plans to expand to additional farmers markets, stores, and restaurants.  For more information please email Lira Rossa at info@lirarossa.com or send them a message on Facebook.

My favorite cheese is the mozzarella. It is delicious and oh so creamy! I love it on sliced tomato with fresh basil.  Earlier this summer, I used fresh tomatoes and basil straight from my garden.  I drizzled half of the slices with balsamic vinegar and half with olive oil and sprinkled them all with salt and pepper. I then proceeded to eat an entire ball of mozzarella without sharing it with my husband or kids.  It. Was. That. Good.

image

 

The ricotta affumcata (which is just fun to say) is smoked with pecan. It is excellent shredded on pasta.  I also enjoyed just taking bites of it while drinking wine because I’m classy like that.

 

I haven’t tried the latteria yet because it is still aging and will be available in October. All of the cheeses are made with our milk, but the latteria is made with raw milk. In other words, the milk does not need to be pasteurized first because latteria is aged cheese. This is a picture of the cheese in the aging room, getting yummier every day, just waiting for you to purchase it come October.

image

 

If you’ve tried the cheese, let us know what you think! If you haven’t tried it yet, what are you waiting for?!

image